School Garden – Help is on the Way!

Blog by Susan Hewitt:

Hi!  I’m Susan Hewitt of Small Hitch Farm, a market garden in Oakton specializing in cooking and salad greens.  I’ve been invited to help out in the school garden, in exchange for space to grow my cool season veggies.  I am a 2013 graduate of the Future Harvest/CASA Beginning Farmer Training Program in Maryland.  I learned how to grow vegetables with sustainable, organic methods.  I am eager to share my knowledge and to lend support to the teachers and parents of Freedom Hill School as they encourage and inspire their students to love growing and eating the wonderful variety of vegetables that can be grown right here at Freedom Hill School.

I will be writing a brief “What’s Going on in the Garden?” update each month.  I will also head a crop planning/seed buying meeting in January for the coming growing season.